Battle of the Books 2022

Battle of the Books 2022 Logo

Another year of Battle has ended. Congratulations to all participants!

junior book battle winners

    Congratulations, Walter E Harris PS!

intermediate book battle winners

    Congratulations, Coronation PS!

Results of the Oshawa finals, held virtually on April 5th:


  1. Walter E Harris PS
  2. Jeanne Sauvé PS
  3. Sunset Heights PS


  1. Coronation PS
  2. Jeanne Sauvé PS
  3. Adelaide McLaughlin PS

Also participating was Sir Albert Love CS and Walter E Harris PS in the Intermediate semi-finals.

At the Regional Finals, held virtually on April 7th, we are proud to announce that Walter E Harris PS placed third for the bronze medal in the Junior Division and Coronations PS won the gold medal for the Intermediate division. Congratulations! #Oshawastrong

Registration for the 2023 season will begin mid-September.

Tentative Battle dates are:

Apr. 18: Junior Semifinals
Apr. 20: Intermediate Semifinals
Apr. 25: Junior Finals followed by Intermediate Finals
Apr. 27: Junior Regionals, followed by Intermediate Regionals

What is Battle of the Books?

Each year in April, the "Battle of the Books" teams from schools in Oshawa, led by a teacher or teacher-librarian, meet for the Semi-Battle competition. The top three teams from each division go on to the Final Battle to compete for gold, silver and bronze medals. The gold medal winners are awarded a trophy for their school and go on to compete in the Regional Championship.

The Battle of the Books is hosted at two levels: the junior division is for students in grades 4 - 6 and the intermediate division is for students in grades 7 and 8. Book lists for 2023 will be released in mid-September.

See for more information or to suggests books for 2023. More questions? Contact Alison Yntema, Community Engagement Librarian, at 905-579-6111 ext. 5256 or

Print this page